GooglePages are FUN! You have one yet?

12 07 2007

Here is the “about” page for Google Pages

Google page basically allows you to make a couple of webpages for yourself.  You do have some access to the html, so you can dress them up a bit!  One requirement is to get the gmail (basically google’s email program) in order to do this.  I personally didn’t think it was all that big of deal!  You can still use your own email and passcode to sign into your google account.  My sign in name is the one I choose for gmail so don’t let it take you back when you see it after you sign in!  It wont’ show your email name that you opened your google account with anymore.

The more items you use OFF this program the more webspace you can use!  For example, I still use photobucket for my images.  My account as of now still has tons of space left!  The help section seems to be pretty active, and if you do a search for what you are looking for chances are you will find it!

I was reading the help section, and I came upon a poster that had his own googlepage with tips!  I went there and did some fast reading.  I learned that you can use templates from other places, and NOT use the ones avaiable!  That is all fine and great except you have to break the template UP and place in the separate sections of their TEMPLATE!  I found that out the hard way!  When you start playing around with it you see the button to edit the html, and so of course I did!  I erased all the html that was there, and then copied my template html that I worked on instead.  What I didn’t realize is that I placed my entire template within the header portion of the page, and it looked AWFUL!  You have to break up your template into the separate sections. 

The preview section isn’t all that helpful!  I found you must view it live in order to get a good feel for what it will look like live!  YES you can play around with it without it being LIVE on the internet, and if you decide to take it down off the internet it gives you that option also!

My page is still a work in progress!  Here is is!

Engraver For You

Now you can’t add meta tags or keywords into your html from what I have read.  You must make sure your page is keyword rich, and do this naturally!  Then make sure you get some of those one way links to drive up the page rank of your site!

Helpful tip page from another google page member

What I would LIKE to do is use this page for an entrance into my ecrater store!  I placed a note on my google page noting that if they click the ‘baseball’ button for example it will take them to the baseball trophy section of my store!  I will be adding additional sports trophies, and pages with time.   Remember to use your anchor text along with other items!

Car Magnet Full Color Design up to 72 Square inches

The Full Color Car Magnet images above are samples with approximate sizes. You may request the design or layout of any of these samples or describe what you would like and we will lay it out for you. Team sport magnets will be customized to your school colors (and mascots or logo if available).

Click on images above for larger view. 4″ x 18″ or 6″ x 12″ or 8″ x 9″ are popular sizes! Basically up to 72 square inches in a rectangle shape

Actions

Information

4 responses

12 07 2007
Sam

I feel that google page is very limitation to design because of the prefix template, so your design must fix to the template provided, simple layout is ok.

12 07 2007
htstore

Yes like all free programs it does have its limitations. I have found alot of pretty cool stuff others have done with the pages tho! Is there ways around everything? LOL! no! It does get you some good freedom, and I know they get indexed by google. Others from Ecrater actually had people find their page, and went to the store and started to BUY! Its just one marketing tool available at no cost!

13 07 2007
Deepak

Hi,
Nice post.
You can use your own template but only home page’s layout cann’t be changed. it’s only disadvantage in google pages.But any ways it is nice feature.

13 07 2007
htstore

What do you mean that the home page layout can’t be changed? You can edit the html, and template that they supply as you wish. Maybe its not enough coffee this morning, but I’m confused by your comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

