Squidoo and the hyperlink!

2 06 2007

I have been extremely busy lately, but I finally had the time to do two Squidoo lens for the store online!  Within 5 minutes of posting the first one I had 7 visits and a rating of 5.

Now it would seem to me that the more relevant tags you use (and if you think about its really KEYWORDS) the more success you might have for traffic!  Its really strange to start so low, and watch the numbers grow day by day!  Don’t forget to use the keyword tools I placed on the sidebar to make sure you use something that the search engines like!
What is NICE about squidoo is that you are able to use html.  Now don’t get excited because basic html really isn’t all that hard to learn!  When you find little pieces of code save them in the notepad program and not your word processor. 

You can use HTML in the modules that they supply.  From what I have figured out – all of them!  The first module has the html editor in there, and that did confused me because the rest of them didn’t!  For visual purposes make sure you click ‘wrap text’ for that module that offers the html editor.  I added the code directly into the other modules.  Here are some basic html codes for you.

We are going to start by making a hyperlink. That means you click on some words and it ZOOMS you to that website!  Below is the code:

 

When making a hyperlink to a website don’t forget to use that ANCHOR text!  Don’t use ‘click here’ for my site!  Remember your tagline for your website, blog, store etc and use that!  For this example I will use the title of my lens.    Above is a snippet of code to paste into your note pad program!  Then I will explain it!

 Now you see the website in the first part between the quotes (“ “)?  That is your first section!  The easiest way at first is to actually GO to the website you want to hyperlink, and look to the address bar!  Highlight that address (the whole thing) with your mouse and copy it.  You can do that a couple of ways.

1. Right click and hit copy
2. Look to the very TOP of the screen and click Edit and click the copy command
3. Click your control button or CTRL button and then hit the C button. 

Next go into that code above and delete the domain dot com part (the whole thing), and just leave the quotes.  With then paste your website address in there!

1. Right click and hit paste
2. Edit again and then click paste
3. Control (CTRL) and V

Now wasn’t that easy?  YEP and you are halfway there!
The second part isn’t that hard either!  In between the >< where is says my website – delete that and USE your anchor text!  Below is a hyperlink right to the page I mentioned before!  I will get you another basic lesson tomorrow!

Below is an example that I used with the squidoo link to my page that I am talking about the badge in the description below!

 Name Tag or Name Badge Full Color and Tooth Shaped Dentist   

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

